## TEAM VALOR HEADLINE NEWS May 3, 2016

## PAULICK PIECE ON LICENSE MANEUVER NOMINATED FOR WRITING HONOR BY TURNING IN LICENSE IN FLA., TRAINER ABLE TO AVOID RECIPROCITY PAULICK REPORT'S 2ND NOMINATION IN 2016 FOR \$25,000 BERGSTEIN AWARD

Team Valor International has nominated a story from the *Paulick Report* on the license status of trainer Marcus Vitali in Florida and Maryland for the Stan Bergstein Writing Award.

Ray Paulick's April 29 piece revealed that Vitali voluntarily turned in his license in Florida rather than face penalties for seven recent medication violations. The state regulator, the Florida Division of Pari-Mutuel Wagering, accepted Vitali's license forfeiture and subsequently dismissed the charges, so long as he does not re-apply to race in the Sunshine State. This spares Vitali from being subjected to reciprocity in other states like Maryland, where he moved his stable after finishing third in the standings for the Gulfstream Park Championship meet.



Paulick wrote "In other words, as long as Vitali doesn't apply for a license in Florida, none of the pending medication charges against him in 2015 and '16 are on his record in any other state. And if he happens to pick up a positive test in Maryland or wherever else he runs horses, it might be treated as a first offense in that jurisdiction.

"I don't blame Vitali or his lawyer, Daniel Russell. They are just taking advantage of a deeply flawed system."

The full story is <u>here</u>.

The nomination is the second so far in 2016 for the Paulick Report, with the other going to Natalie Voss for a story on varying enforcement of veterinarian's lists in jurisdictions around the U.S. Ray Paulick won the \$25,000 award in 2013.

Team Valor nominates stories throughout the year and assigns a panel of judges to select an award winner. This year's judges are racetrack announcer Trevor Denman, Hall of Fame jockey Chris McCarron and veteran turf writers Neil Milbert, Maryjean Wall and Michael Veitch.

Barry Irwin and Team Valor will present the fifth annual Stan Bergstein Writing Award in the fall.